2022 Programme

The ALPSP Annual Conference and Awards 2022 was held at the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, Manchester, UK from 14-16 September.

Video footage of all plenary sessions are available on the ALPSP YouTube page.

Photographs from the event can be viewed via ALPSP Google Photos.

Additional reading.

When accessing any of the above material please note the terms and conditions of use as stated in our Privacy Policy.


Wednesday 14 September

Audio Presentation
Conference Welcome
Niamh O'Connor, Chief Publishing Officer, PLOS (ALPSP Chair)
Session 1 Keynote: The Role of Academic Publishing in an Age of Misinformation
Peter Cunliffe-Jones, Course Director & Researcher, University of Westminster
audio ppt
Session 2: The Future of Open Access Books Funding
Charles Watkinson, University of Michigan Press (Chair)
Simon Bains, University of Aberdeen
Jenny Evans, University of Westminster
Hans de Jonge, Dutch Research Council NWO
Stephanie Veldman, Brill
Session 3: ALPSP Awards for Innovation in Publishing – the finalists
David Sommer, Kudos (Chair)
Charlesworth Gateway - Andrew Smith, The Charlesworth Group
GigaByte - Dr. Scott C Edmunds, GigaByte
Hum - Dustin Smith, Hum
ICLR Case Genie - Emma Watkins, 67 Bricks Ltd
Impact Services - Steve Lodge, Emerald Publishing
Joint Commitment for action - Nicola Nugent, Royal Society of Chemistry
Review Commons - Thomas Lemberger, EMBO
audio ppt

Thursday 15 September

Audio Presentation
Session 4: How can ALPSP members help achieve the SDGs?
James Butcher, Clarke & Esposito (Chair)
Suzanne Farley, PLOS
Claire Jackson, Emerald Publishing
Professor Julia Martin-Ortega, University of Leeds
Dr. Fabio Pulizzi, Nature Water
Parallel Session 5a: Incorporating Inclusive Language into Publications and Communications
Juliet Dobson, BMJ (Chair)
Lucy Banham, The Lancet
Kim Eggleton, IOP Publishing
Anna Novitsky, Nature
Parallel Session 5b: A look back at the Evolution of Publishing
Niamh O'Connor, PLOS (Chair)
Richard Charkin, Mensch Publishing
Aileen Fyfe, University of St Andrews
David Smith, The IET
Parallel Session 6a: Transparency in OA: Moving out of the Black Box?
Jayne Marks, Maverick Publishing Specialists (Chair)
Claire Moulton, The Company of Biologists
Scott Taylor, The University of Manchester
Jeremy Upton, University of Edinburgh
Julian Wilson, IOP Publishing
Parallel Session 6b: Collaboration and Connectivity: Building cohesive teams
Sophia Anderton, BJUI (Co-Chair)
Fiona McKenzie, Springer Nature (Co-Chair)
Laura Harvey, Clarivate
Jo Wixon, Wiley
Parallel Session 7a: Connecting the dots: Integrating research outputs beyond the PDF
Dr. Catriona J. MacCallum, Hindawi Ltd (Chair)
Iain Hrynaszkiewicz, PLOS
Stephen Pinfield, University of Sheffield
Iratxe Puebla, ASAPbio
audio ppt
Parallel Session 7b: Rethinking “normal” in the workplace: What it means to build a more inclusive workplace culture
Sara Rouhi, PLOS (Chair)
Katy Alexander, Digital Science
Valarie Guagnini, Cambridge University Press
Dianndra Roberts, Royal College of Psychiatrists
audio ppt
Parallel Session 8a: Measuring publishers’ impact on attaining the SDGs
Prof. Jonatan Pinkse, The University of Manchester (Chair)
Euan Adie, Overton.io
Christina M Brian, Springer Nature
Guillaume Rivalle, Clarivate Analytics
audio ppt
Parallel Session 8b: Industry Updates
Louise Russell, Tutton Russell Consulting (Chair)
Yvonne Campfens, Stichting OA Switchboard
Anthony Cond, Liverpool University Press
Kim Eggleton, IOP Publishing
Lola Harre, Jisc
Paul Killoran, Ex Ordo
Godwyns Onwuchekwa, eLife
Andrew Pitts, PSI
audio ppt
Session 9: A New Copyright Exception for Text and Data Mining: What Next for Government and Publishers?
Will Crook, PLS
Leslie Lansman, Springer Nature
audio ppt
The winners of the 2022 ALPSP Awards
ALPSP Award for Contribution to Scholarly Publishing. Awarded to Lorraine Estelle
ALPSP Awards for Innovation in Publishing 2022. Joint winners - Charlesworth Gateway and Gigabyte

Friday 16 September

Audio Presentation
Session 10: What does the future hold?
Sarah Greaves, Sarah Greaves STEM Consulting (Chair)
Ian Caswell, UCL Press
Ritu Dhand, Springer Nature
Daniel Hook, Digital Science
Stephen Pinfield, University of Sheffield
Jennifer Schivas, 67 Bricks
audio ppt
Session 11: Strengthening the Ecosystem: Interacting with the Scholarly Publishing World Around Us
Violaine Iglesias, Cadmore Media (Chair)
Lauren Kane, BioOne
Frank Michelangeli, Federation of European Biochemical Societies (FEBS)
Maggie Simmons, Geological Society of London
Conference Close
Niamh O'Connor, PLOS (ALPSP Chair)